AACE Elections: Here's Our Preliminary Candidates
February 1, 2021
board and committee calls

AACE Elections: Here's Our Preliminary Candidates

In compliance with the AACE Bylaws°, we’re sharing with you the following preliminary slate of candidates for election to officer positions for a one-year (1) term. For the Board of Directors, there are five (5) open positions for election to a three-year (3) term (2021-2024), one (1) open position for a two-year (2) term (2021-2023), and one (1) open position for a one-year (1) term (2021-2022).   

Also, in compliance with the AACE Bylaws, the final slate of candidates will be submitted to the AACE community for vote by mail-in or electronic ballot at least 60 days (March 30, 2021) prior to the AACE 2021 Annual Business Meeting, on Saturday, May 29, 2021. °° The final slate will include those candidates selected by the Nominating Committee along with any additional candidates who, in accordance with the AACE Bylaws, may qualify for having their names included on the ballot through the petition process. °°° Please note that the deadline for nomination by petition is March 1, 2021. 

We are happy to say we received so many highly qualified applications. Thank you for your enthusiasm in elevating endocrinology with us! Meet our preliminary candidates:

Officer Positions:

President Elect – S. Sethu K. Reddy, MD, MBA, FRCPC, FACP, MACE (Mt. Pleasant, MI)

Vice President – W. Timothy Garvey, MD, FACE (Mountain Brook, AL)

Treasurer – Susan L. Samson, MD, PhD, FRCPC, FACE (Jacksonville, FL)

Secretary – Scott D. Isaacs, MD, FACP, FACE (Atlanta, GA)

Board Positions:

Five (5) slots for a three-year (3) term (2021-2024):

*Gary W. Edelson, MD, FACE (Farmington Hills, MI)

Geetha Gopalakrishnan, MD, FACE (Pawtucket, RI)

Karl Nadolsky, DO, FACE (Grand Rapids, MI)

Archana R. Sadhu, MD, FACE (Houston, TX)

*Elias S. Siraj, MD, FACP, FACE (Norfolk, VA)                                                                     

One (1) slot for two-year (2) term (2021-2023) to fill the unexpired term of Dr. Guillermo Umpierrez:

Navtika R. Desai, DO, ECNU, FACE (Hillsborough, NJ)

One (1) slot for one-year (1) term (2021-2022) to fill the unexpired term of Dr. Susan Samson, who was elected Secretary in 2020:

Ricardo Correa, MD, FACP, FACE (Phoenix, AZ)

*Current Board member eligible for reelection for an additional three-year (3) term

If you have any questions about the election process, please contact Lynn Blanco at (904) 404-4131. If you are eligible to vote with an email address, you will receive an electronic ballot no later than March 30, and have the option of requesting a paper ballot. Anyone eligible to vote without an email address will receive a paper ballot. 

°The complete text of the AACE Bylaws and election procedures (Chapter 6) can be accessed on AACE Online. AACE Bylaws

°° The timeline may be amended by the Board, however, the date of the Annual Business Meeting will be on or after May 29, 2021.

°°°The AACE Bylaws [Chapter 6, Section 2(c)], provide that nominations for Officer and Board positions may also be submitted by petition from the membership, provided that the candidate otherwise qualifies under the Bylaws and that a separate petition in support of each nominee, signed by at least 1 percent of the AACE members eligible to vote, has been received by the Nominating Committee no later than March 1, 2021 (90 days prior to the Annual Business Meeting).