AACE/ACE Award Winners Announced

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. (April 18, 2019) – The American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE), a professional community of physicians specializing in endocrinology, diabetes, and metabolism, is pleased to announce the AACE and the American College of Endocrinology (ACE) 2019 Award winners.

Recipients of the 2019 AACE/ACE Awards will be honored on Thursday, April 25, 2019, at AACE 2019, the association’s 28th Annual Scientific & Clinical Congress in Los Angeles.

2019 AACE Award Winners

  • AACE Frontiers in Science Award:
  • Shlomo Melmed, MB, ChB, FRCP, MACP
    Dean, Executive VP, and Professor of Medicine at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

  • AACE International Clinician Award:
  • Yulino Castillo Núñez, MD
    Director of the Endocrinology and Diabetes Section and Fellowship Coordinator of the Hospital Dr. Salvador B. Gautier

  • AACE Outstanding Clinical Endocrinologist Award:
  • Ian Hay, MB, PhD, FRCP
    Professor of Medicine and the Dr. Richard F Emslander Professor of Endocrine Research,  Mayo Clinic

  • AACE H. Jack Baskin, MD, Endocrine Teaching Award:
  • Daniel S. Duick, MD, FACP, MACE, ECNU
    Clinical Professor of Medicine at the University of Arizona

  • AACE Outstanding Service Award for Promotion of Endocrine Health of an Underserved Population:
  • Jatinder Kumar Mokta, MD, FACP, FRCP
    Professor of Internal Medicine at Indira Gandhi Medical College, Shimla, India

  • AACE Outstanding Corporate Partner Award:
  • Abbott Diabetes Care

2019 ACE Award Winners

  • ACE Distinction in Endocrinology Award:
  • Felicia Cosman, MD
    Professor of Medicine at Columbia University Medical Center

  • ACE International Endocrinology Award:
  • George J. Kahaly, MD, PhD
    Professor of Medicine and Endocrinology/Metabolism at the Johannes Gutenberg University Medical Center

  • ACE Master of the American College of Endocrinology (MACE):
  • Jeffrey I. Mechanick, MD, FACP, FACN, FACE, ECNU
    Professor of Medicine and Medical Director of The Marie-Josée and Henry R. Kravis Center for Clinical Cardiovascular Health at Mount Sinai Heart

  • ACE Master of the American College of Endocrinology (MACE):
  • Dace L. Trence, MD, FACE
    Professor of Medicine in the Division of Metabolism, Endocrinology, and Nutrition at the University of Washington

  • ACE Yank D. Coble, Jr., MD, Distinguished Service Award:
  • R. Mack Harrell, MD, FACP, FACE, ECNU
    Co-Director of the Memorial Center for Integrative Endocrine Surgery at Memorial Health System, Boca Raton

  • ACE Philanthropy Award:
  • Novo Nordisk

Taking place April 24-28, 2019, AACE 2019 will be held at the Los Angeles Convention Center & JW Marriott and will feature expert speakers, networking events, and trade show exhibitions.

For more award information, visit: https://www.aace.com/awards/criteria


About the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE)

The American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE) represents more than 6,500 endocrinologists in the United States and abroad. AACE is the largest association of clinical endocrinologists in the world. A majority of AACE members are certified in endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism and concentrate on the treatment of patients with endocrine and metabolic disorders including diabetes, thyroid disorders, osteoporosis, growth hormone deficiency, cholesterol disorders, hypertension and obesity. Visit our site at www.aace.com.

AACE Press Release