2020 Award Recipients

AACE Frontiers in Science

headshot of Dr. Bhasin

Dr. Shalender Bhasin is a Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, and Director of the Research Program in Men's Health, Aging and Metabolism, and Director of the Boston Claude D.

AACE International Clinician Award

headshot of Dr. Larijani

Professor Bagher Larijani trained as an endocrinologist at Tehran University of Medical Sciences (TUMS) and obtained his Fellowship distinction (FACE) from the American College of Endocrinology. Currently, he is the President and Chief Scientific Officer of the Endocrinology and Metabolism Research Institute (EMRI) of Tehran University of Medical Sciences, the highest-ranking medical research institute in Iran.

AACE Outstanding Clinical Endocrinologist Award

headshot of Dr. Stesin

Upon completion of his Endocrinology fellowship at the Mayo Clinic, Dr. Mark Stesin returned to his home city of Minneapolis.  As providing personalized endocrine/medical care was one of his practice goals, he chose to open his own independent endocrinology practice, which he continues to maintain. In his clinic, Dr. Stesin has endeavored to treat patients with a wide spectrum of endocrinology disorders.

AACE H. Jack Baskin, MD, Endocrine Teaching Award

headshot of Dr. Cusi

Kenneth Cusi, MD, serves as Chief of the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism in the Department of Medicine at the University of Florida. He received his medical degree in Argentina from the University of Buenos Aires School of Medicine and is board certified in both Internal Medicine and Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism. He completed his residency at the Center of Medical Education & Clinical Research (CEMIC) in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and a clinical fellowship at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston.

AACE Outstanding Service Award for Promotion of Endocrine Health of an Underserved Population

headshots of Dr. Ramchandani and Dr. Prabhushankar

This year, the AACE Outstanding Service Award for Promotion of Endocrine Health of an Underserved Population was awarded to both Dr. Ramchandani (pictured left) and Dr. Prabhushankar (pictured right). Read their bios here.

ACE Distinction in Endocrinology Award

headshot of Dr. LeBoff

Meryl S. LeBoff, MD, is a Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School (HMS) and the Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH), Distinguished Chair in Skeletal Health and Osteoporosis. She is Chief of the Calcium and Bone Section in the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Hypertension at Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH) and directs the Skeletal Health and Osteoporosis Center and Bone Density Unit, which she founded. As an endocrinologist, Dr. LeBoff specializes in osteoporosis, fracture outcomes, metabolic bone diseases and disorders of calcium homeostasis.

ACE International Endocrinology Award

headshot of Dr. Farooqi

Dr. Sadaf Farooqi is a Wellcome Principal Research Fellow and Professor of Metabolism and Medicine at the University of Cambridge, UK. She is an internationally recognized Clinician Scientist who has made seminal contributions to understanding the genetic and physiological mechanisms that underlie severe obesity and its complications. The work of Sadaf Farooqi and her colleagues has fundamentally altered the understanding of human body weight regulation and obesity.

ACE Master of the American College of Endocrinology

headshots of Dr. Garber and Dr. Grunberger

This year, the ACE Master of the American College of Endocrinology was awarded to both Dr. Garber (pictured left) and Dr. Grunberger (pictured right). This distinction is presented to an AACE member who has received FACE distinction and is recognized as a distinguished endocrinologist, role model for developing endocrinologists, and contributor to AACE and to the art and science of endocrinology. Read their bios here.

ACE Yank D. Coble, Jr., MD, Distinguished Service Award

headshot of Dr. Bergman

Donald A. Bergman, MD, FACP, MACE, is in private practice in New York City and board certified in both internal medicine and endocrinology and metabolism. He has been Clinical Professor of Medicine at Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York City since 2004 and previously has held other academic positions since 1977. Dr. Bergman has authored several papers and contributed to books including "The Mount Sinai School of Medicine Complete Book of Nutrition." He co-edited the “Power of Prevention Guide to Physical Activity”, which was t published by AACE in the summer of 2006.

AACE Outstanding Corporate Partner Award

AstraZeneca logo

We are a global, science-led biopharmaceutical business and our innovative medicines are used by millions of patients worldwide.

ACE Philanthropy Award

Abbvie logo

At AbbVie, we combine advanced science, expertise and passion to solve serious health issues and have a remarkable impact on people’s lives. See how we’re improving health care on a global basis.

ACE Alan J. Garber, MD, PhD, FACE, Lectureship

headshot of Dr. Schatz

Desmond Schatz, MD, is Professor and Interim Chairman of Pediatrics, Medical Director of the Diabetes Institute and Director of the Clinical Research Center within the CTSI at the University of Florida, Gainesville. He served as President of Science and Medicine of the American Diabetes Association in 2016.